Ph.D. students

  • Chen Liu
    PhD 2019. “Discontinuous Galerkin methods for pore-scale multi- phase flow: theoretical analysis and simulation”.
  • Maurice Fabien
    PhD 2019. “Hybridizable discontinuous Galerkin methods for flow and transport: applications, solvers, and high performance computing”. Joint supervision with Matthew Knepley. Maurice is the Prager Assistant Professor and Presidential Fellow in the Division of Applied Mathematics at Brown University.
  • Emily Hendryx
    PhD 2018. “Subset selection and feature identification in the electrocardiogram”. Joint supervision with Craig Rusin.
    Emily is a faculty at the University of Central Oklahoma.
  • Charles Puelz
    PhD 2017. “Numerical methods and applications for reduced models of blood flow”. Joint supervision with Craig Rusin. Charles is currently a postdoc at Courant, New York University.
  • Jizhou Li
    PhD 2015. “High order discontinuous Galerkin methods for simulating miscible displacement process in porous media with a focus on minimal regularity”. Winner of the 2015 Ralph Budd Award for Research in Engineering. Jizhou is currently employed at ExxonMobil.
  • Yingpei Wang
    Co-advised with Liliana Borcea. PhD 2014. “On the approximation of the Dirichlet to Neumann map for high contrast two phase composites and its applications to domain decomposition methods”. Yingpei is currently employed at Google.
  • Xin Yang
    PhD 2014. “Simulation of CO2 sequestration in saline aquifers using discontinuous Galerkin method”. Xin is currently employed at Google.
  • Kun Liu
    PhD 2013. “Discontinuous Galerkin methods for parabolic partial differential equations with random input data”. Kun is currently employed at Panton, Inc.
  • Sevtap Ozisik
    Ph.D. 2012 from Middle East Technical University, Turkey.
    “Fully Computable Convergence Analysis of Discontinuous Galerkin Finite Element Approximation with an Arbirtrary Number of Levels of Hanging Nodes. Sevtap is currently employed by Direct Energy.
  • Aycil Cesmelioglu
    PhD 2010. “Complex Flow and Transport Phenomena in Porous Media”. Aycil is currently an Associate Professor at Oakland University.
  • Prince Chidyagwai
    PhD 2010. “Coupling Surface Flow with Porous Media Flow”. Prince is currently an Assistant Professor at Loyola University Maryland.
  • Qi Mi
    PhD 2007. “Modeling The Wound Healing In Necrotizing Enterocolitis And Diabetic Foot Ulcer”.
    Joint supervision with David Swigon.
    Currently Assistant Professor in the School of Health and Medicine at University of Pittsburgh.
  • Yekaterina Epshteyn
    PhD 2007. “Hp Primal Discontinuous Galerkin Finite Element Methods For Two-Phase Flow In Porous Media”.
    Currently, Associate Professor in the department of Mathematics at University of Utah.
  • Songul Kaya
    PhD 2004. “Numerical Analysis of a Variational Multiscale Method”. Joint supervision with William Layton.
    Winner of the 2004 Hales Distinguished Research Award for the best doctoral dissertation.
    Currently, Associate Professor at Middle East Technical University, Turkey.
  • Master students

  • Brianna Lynn. M.A. 2016. “Optimal Control of Flow and Transport Equations Using Discontinuous Galerkin Methods”.
  • Rujeko Chinomona. M.A. 2016. “Black Oil Simulation Utilizing a Central Finite Volume Scheme”.
  • Jun Tan. M.A. 2014. “Theoretical Convergence of Discontinuous Galerkin Methods for Poroelasticity Equations”.
  • Shirin Sardar. M.A. 2012. “Penalty-Free Discontinuous Galerkin Methods for the Stokes and Navier-Stokes Equations”.
  • Xin Yang. M.A. 2012. “A Coupled Finite Volume and Discontinuous Galerkin Method for Convection-Diffusion Problems”.
  • Toni Tullius. M.A. 2011. “Accelerated Discontinuous Galerkin Solvers with the Chebyshev Iterative Method on the Graphics Processing Unit”. Joint supervision with Tim Warburton.
  • Kun Liu. M.A. 2010. “Discontinuous Galerkin Methods for Elliptic Partial Differential Equations with Random Coefficients”.
  • Christina Ho. M.A. 2010. “Discontinuous Galerkin Formulation for Multi-component Multiphase Flow”. Currently at El Paso company in Houston.
  • Ahmet Izmirlioglu. M.S. 2008. “Numerical and theoretical studies of high order methods”.
  • Michael Chiacchiero. M.S. 2007. “Efficient PETSc Solvers for Discontinuous Galerkin Methods Applied to Elliptic Problems”.
    Currently math professor at Edison State College.
  • Undergraduate students

  • Grace Jenkins. 2017.
  • James Phillip. 2016. Research funded by NSF.
  • James Lee. 2015-2016. Research funded by NSF.
  • Justin Dong. 2013-2014. Research funded by NHARP and by NSF.
  • Rebecca McKinnell. 2013. Research funded by NSF.
  • Joey Huchette. 2011. Research funded by NHARP. Currently, graduate student at MIT.
  • Yichen Lu. 2011. Research funded by NHARP.
  • John Vogelgesang. 2011. Research funded by NHARP.
  • Yuekai Sun. 2009. Research funded by a Brown Undergraduate Research Internship and a NSF grant. Yuekai is currently an assistant professor at U. Michigan.
  • William Klieber. Bachelor of Philosophy thesis, 2006.
    “Numerical Simulations of Two-Phase Flow”.
    Research funded by CDRF (Spring 2004) and a Brackenridge Fellowship (Summer 2004). Currently, employed by CERT at Carnegie Mellon University.
  • Postdocs

  • Richard Rankin. Multiphase multicomponent (black-oil). 2012-2014.
  • Jennifer Young. Mathematical modeling of intestinal edema using a poroelastic inhomogeneous model. 2010-2012. Jennifer was a bright young mathematician, whose life was accidently taken by a car on Main Street.
  • Travis Thompson. Poroelasticity and intestinal edema. 2015-2017.
  • Florian Frank. Pore scale flows. 2015-2018.
  • Nabil Chaabane. Geomechanics and reservoir flows. 2015-2018.
  • Loic Cappanera. Multiphase flows. 2017-2019. Faculty in Mathematics at the University of Houston.
  • Comments are closed